Home » Resources » Florida Board of Veterinary Medicine

Florida Board of Veterinary Medicine

The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) Board of Veterinary Medicine is the licensing and regulatory agency for the practice of veterinary medicine in Florida.

Florida Board of Veterinary Medicine
 2601 Blair Stone Road
Tallahassee, FL 32399-0783
850-487-1395           Click Here

Seven members are appointed to the Board of Veterinary Medicine by the governor of Florida, subject to confirmation by the Florida Senate, to serve four-year terms.  Five members of the board are licensed veterinarians and two are laypersons who are not related to the veterinary profession.

The following are the current members of the Board of Veterinary Medicine.

Licensed Veterinarians:

Dr. Robert B. Leonard, Jr. (Chairman)
New Smyrna Beach, FL
Term: 01/30/14 – 10/31/17

Dr. Rudd Nelson
Lighthouse Point, FL
Term: 09/26/16 – 10/31/19

Dr. Harvey Partridge
Saint Petersburg, FL
Term: 02/19/15- 10/31/18

Dr. Sharon Powell
Fort Myers, FL
Term: 09/26/16 – 10/31/19

Consumer Members:

Suzanne S. Inzina
Largo, FL
Term: 08/09/13 – 10/31/16

Connie Mae Johnson
Plant City, FL
Term: 01/30/14 – 10/31/17

With the passing of Dr. Robert Hase on January 7, 2018, there is currently a vacancy on the seven-member board.

The Board of Veterinary Medicine shall establish fees for application and examination, reexamination, license renewal, inactive status, renewal of inactive status, license reactivation, periodic inspection of veterinary establishments and duplicate copies of licenses, certificates, and permits.

To learn more about the Board of Veterinary Medicine, renew or apply for a veterinary license in the State of Florida, Click Here


For Pet Owners

FVMA members appreciate the importance of the legacy and growth of the veterinary profession and the strength of the human-animal bond.

View For Pet Owners